Search
lionel-top-25-May-24-2

The Malevolent Dark Horror Fiction Top 25 May 2024 Edition

The Malevolent Dark Horror Fiction Top 25 May 2024 Edition

Check out the charts for April, March, February, and January

MALEVOLENT DARK HORROR FICTION TOP 25 MAY 2024 - The Day of the Door, Laurel Hightower MALEVOLENT DARK HORROR FICTION TOP 25 MAY 2024 - Children of the Dark 2 - The Night Flyers. Jonathan Jane MALEVOLENT DARK HORROR FICTION TOP 25 MAY 2024 - Ghost Station, S.A. Barnes MALEVOLENT DARK HORROR FICTION TOP 25 MAY 2024 - Indian Burial Ground, Nick Medina

1. The Day of the Door by Laurel Hightower

By the Bram Stoker Award-nominated author of Below, The Day of the Door is raw psychological and supernatural horror about a trio of siblings rocked by the death of their eldest brother, a death they blame on their mother. Two decades later, accompanied by a paranormal investigative team, the family convenes to learn the truth of what happened that day.

2. Children of the Dark 2: The Night Flyers by Jonathan Janz

The sequel to Children of the Dark, The Night Flyers follows sixteen-year-old Will Burgess in the aftermath of the first book’s events where he lost many of the people he loved most. Now imprisoned in a facility for troubled youths, Will learns the monstrous Children want revenge and will stop at nothing to destroy everyone he cares about.

3. Ghost Station by S.A. Barnes

By the author of Dead Silence, Ghost Station is a space horror novel about a psychologist assigned to a crew exploring an abandoned planet. When their pilot is murdered, the psychologist and the crew must work together to solve the mystery. Is it the beginning of a wave of violence caused by Eckhart-Reiser syndrome or something more sinister?

4. Indian Burial Ground by Nick Medina

By the author of Sisters of the Lost Nation, Indian Burial Ground is a mythological horror novel about a woman whose life changes with news of her boyfriend’s apparent suicide. However, the facts about his death don’t add up, and she along with her uncle set out to find answers and uncover secrets that might be best to remain buried.

5. Bless Your Heart by Lindy Ryan

A mystery/horror novel set in 1999 in Southeast Texas, Bless Your Heart follows a family of funeral parlor owners who must protect the town after a woman’s body rises from the dead, a sure sign that vampires are back.

6. The Black Girl Survives in This One edited by Desiree S. Evans and Saraciea J. Fennell

A young adult anthology of horror stories centering on Black girls who battle monsters and who survive to the end with tales by Erin E. Adams, Monica Brashears, Charlotte Nicole Davis, Desiree S. Evans, Saraciea J. Fennell, Zakiya Dalila Harris, Daka Hermon, Justina Ireland, L.L. McKinney, Brittney Morris, Maika and Maritza Moulite, Eden Royce, and Vincent Tirado. Features a foreword by Tananarive Due, the author of Bram Stoker Award-nominated novel The Reformatory.

7. This Skin Was Once Mine and Other Disturbances by Eric LaRocca

A collection of four new horror tales from the Bram Stoker Award-nominated and Splatterpunk Award-winning author of Things Have Gotten Worse Since We Last Spoke.

8. Oracle by Thomas Olde Heuvelt

A supernatural thriller about an international investigation into the mysterious wreck of an old ship believed to be a harbinger of an ancient and apocalyptic doom from under the sea.

9. A Better World by Sarah Langan

By the three-time Bram Stoker Award-winning author of Audrey’s Door and The Missing, A Better World is billed as “a cunning, outside-the-box satirical thriller about a family’s odyssey into an exclusive enclave for the wealthy that might not be as ideal as it seems.”

10. The Light Is the Darkness by Laird Barron

Indentured by a cabal of ultra-rich patrons, a modern-day gladiator who fights in secret arenas across the globe is on the hunt for his sister who disappears while investigating a eugenics scientist, a probe that indicates she uncovered evidence of a Byzantine occult conspiracy against civilization itself.

11. Immortal Pleasures by V. Castro

By the Bram Stoker Award-nominated author of The Queen of the Cicadas, Immortal Pleasures is about an ancient Aztec vampire who roams the modern world in search of vengeance and love.

12. Bad Dreams in the Night by Adam Ellis

Billed as “a graphic novel version of Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark,” Bad Dreams in the Night is a collection of never-before-seen comics with stories “perfect for people who love Black Mirror and Stranger Things and listened to podcasts like Welcome to Nightvale and Rabbits.”

13. Cranberry Cove by Hailey Piper

By the Bram Stoker Award-winning author of Queen of Teeth, Cranberry Cove is a bleak supernatural crime novella about a woman’s dark dual journeys inside a derelict hotel and her own past to discover horrible truths.

14. The Atrocity Engine by Tim Waggoner

By the four-time Bram Stoker Award-winning author of The Winter Box, The Atrocity Engine is Book One in the Custodians of the Cosmos series, a mash-up of urban fantasy and cosmic horror about an “overworked secret organization dedicated to battling forces that seek to speed up Entropy and hasten the Omniverse’s inevitable death.”

15. Let Me In by Blair Daniels

A collection of 30 tales with “every flavor of horror, from terrifying nightshift jobs to strange dogs, from disturbing videos online to foreboding letters.”

16. What Good Men Do by Jonathan Butcher

By the Splatterpunk Award-nominated author of Something Very Wrong, What Good Men Do is the sequel to What Good Girls Do and continues “the harrowing tale of two contrasting lives — a traumatized sex slave and a bewildered mother of two — whose lives collide in a turmoil of suffering, violence, and terror.”

17. Man on the Moon by Amy Cross

Book Six in The Horrors of Solbolton series continues the story of “one small town’s struggle to deal with the paranormal monstrosities on its doorstep.”

18. The Underhistory by Kaaron Warren

A girl named Pera who survived a tragedy that killed her entire family and destroyed her home rebuilds on the original site over the following decades. Now an old woman, Pera is showing a young family around her home on the last haunted house tour of the season when an unexpected group of dangerous men arrive. However, the house has secrets, and the men will learn that an old woman like her is far from helpless.

19. Tastes Like Candy 2: Sugarless by Ivy Tholen

The sequel to Tastes Like Candy picks up five years later with the appearance of a copycat killer who uses the familiar cotton-candy-coated playbook to murder a new group of girls one by one. The lone survivor from the first book — still haunted by ghosts from the past — must return to warn the new girls before they suffer the same fate as her group did.

20. The Spore Queen by Debra Castaneda

A reporter ventures into the depths of a forest chasing a news story about a violent storm. She never returns, and within months four other people disappear, prompting her friend to investigate. Meanwhile, a tech mogul living at the forest’s edge is haunted by the reporter’s disappearance as well as the unnatural behaving fungus creeping onto his property and into his dreams.

21. The Vanishing of Joni Blackwood by Lisa Rookes

A beloved and beautiful woman is missing the morning after an annual celebration, and a baby’s bones are found in the church graveyard the next day. What dark truths are hiding in the village? Rookes’ debut novel is billed as “an utterly compelling mystery with a twist you won’t see coming” and “perfect for fans of C.J. Tudor, Caroline Mitchell, and Erin Kelly.”

22. The Undead 27: The Garden Centre by RR Haywood

In Season Five of the long-running zombie series, the Battle for Gatwick is over, but the team is broken, and the darkest days still lie ahead. The Undead 28: Return to the Fort is also available.

23. Cursed by Kevin Bachar

Book 3 in the Nights of Madness series by the Emmy Award-winning documentary filmmaker, Cursed is a collection of 18 stories that “takes a disturbing look at when people find themselves pushed to the brink of madness.”

24. Stomping Ground  by Eric S. Brown

A Bigfoot thriller about a billionaire who buys a piece of land in Alaska to get away from the limelight and paparazzi. His plan to build a large compound there hits a snag because the land is already inhabited by a legendary creature who isn’t about to share.

25. Cremated Remains by M Ennenbach

A collection of 10 tales exploring the spectrum of emotional dissonance on the condition of being human by the two-time Splatterpunk Award-nominated author.

THE NEXT TEN

The next 10 releases just outside the Top 25 chart:

26. Other Places by Thomas Smith

27. Barn Door to Hell by Lucas Mangum 

28. Cute Aggression by Emily Lynn

29. Evil Little Fucks edited by R.E. Sargent and Steven Pajak

30. Living in Cemeteries by Corey Farrenkopf

31. Silent, Dark, and Deep by Rob Labbe

32. This Damned House by Robert Essig 

33. Death’s Other Kingdom: Horror Tales of World War I edited by Coy Hall

34. Triggered by Harrison Phillips

35. The Thing in the Wind by Bill Mullen

HOW THE HORROR FICTION TOP 25 CHART WORKS

The MalevolentDark.com Horror Fiction Top 25 is compiled by senior contributor Lionel Ray Green and only includes releases from the previous month using the Amazon Kindle release date (i.e., May chart is for April releases). His chart is independent and subjective but partly based on a personally developed point system using a combination of factors, including reviews, recognitions, ratings, and media buzz. The Top 25 is released monthly to rank original works and does not include anniversary, author’s preferred, definitive editions, or re-releases. Authors, editors, and publishers with upcoming releases in May 2024 can email the titles of their works to ensure consideration for the next Top 25 to lionelraygreen@gmail.com.

Related Posts

Lionel Ray Green

MalevolentDark.com Top 10 Extreme Horror Fiction of 2021

Lionel Ray Green

MalevolentDark.com Top 10 Extreme Horror Fiction of 2017 

Lionel Ray Green

The Malevolent Dark Horror Fiction Top 25 April 2024 Edition

Lionel Ray Green

The MalevolentDark.com Horror Fiction Top 25 December 2023 Edition

Lionel Ray Green

MalevolentDark.com Top 10 Extreme Horror Fiction of 2020 

Lionel Ray Green

The MalevolentDark.com Horror Fiction Top 25 January 2024 Edition

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.